The prestigious Verdantix Smart Building Innovation Awards recognize the people and organizations who are instrumental in launching successful projects using innovative technologies which enhance facilities and real estate strategies.


Prior winners of Verdantix Innovation Awards include Chevron, Walmart, Volvo Cars, Total, Johnson Controls, London City Airport, EDF and Nestle.

Submission are now closed

2020 Smart Building Innovation Award Categories

In addition to the organizations who have invested in innovative projects, the awards will highlight the contribution of supporting technology and consulting firms.

Corporate headquarters – new

Corporate headquarters – retrofit

Office portfolio


Public sector

Facilities management services




Mixed use development

The judging panel

The judging panel will be chaired by Verdantix Head of Smart Building Research Practice Susan Clarke and two external experts to be announced. No projects associated with members of the judging panel or their organization will be accepted as nominations.

Susan Clarke

Research Director, Smart Buildings


Emeric Denis

IWMS and Technology Implementation Specialist


Paddy Pope

Energy & Carbon Manager

Bank of England

Submission are now closed!

We thank everyone who made a submission. Finalists will be informed by 30 September 2020. Winners will be announced on 14 October 2020 via Verdantix press release

Rules & guidelines

The Smart Building technology project you are nominating must be fully operational and must be able to demonstrate real improvements in building performance. For example: operational efficiency, reducing maintenance downtime, space utilization, better workplace experience or improving the financial value of a property.


Any project that began from 2015 is eligible.


We will judge the winners based on what the original the project was, the challenges you overcame to achieve it, the scale of the benefits relative to the scale of the organization and how impressive the project is relative to comparable projects submitted in the same facility category.


We may reclassify entries into different facility categories if it is a more appropriate fit given your business activities.


Vendors of smart building software and consulting services can submit applications based on the work they have done with their customers, but the vendors are responsible for obtaining the necessary permissions to submit those entries. In these cases, the Awards will mention both the customer and the vendor as Award winners. Any vendor communications must reference the Award as: “Through its successful project for CUSTOMER, VENDOR received a Verdantix Smart Building Innovation Award.”


We will award at most one winner in each facility category, plus finalists if there were other great entries besides the winner. If there are no worthy entries in an facility category, we won’t give an award in that category.


Award winners will be announced on 14 October, 2020, as well as during the Awards Ceremony as part of the Verdantix ‘Next & Best Practices: Learning From Top 10 Smart Building Innovators In 2020’ Virtual Event Winners will be featured in Verdantix blogs and in a press release following the Verdantix Virtual Event as well as receiving an award winner icon to use in marketing communications.


The content of all entries is provided by you on the record and can be quoted in Verdantix research, referenced at the Verdantix Virtual Event and used in other Verdantix materials. All entry submissions will be posted on the Verdantix Smart Buildings Innovation Awards page on the Virtual Event website following review by the moderator.


We will block entries that we think are inappropriate, including those containing obscenity or copyright violations.


There is no fee to participate.

Back To Top

Register For The Latest Verdantix Research, Events & News

Keep me informed